Current Giveaways

-no giveaways at the moments

Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Spotlights and Giveaways: The Water and the Wild by Katie Ormsbee AND One Thing Stolen by Beth Kephart


Today, I am spotlighting and giving away an MG and YA from Chronicle Books...

The Water and the Wild
by K.E. Ormsbee
4/14/15
Chronicle Books
For as long as Lottie Fiske can remember, the only people who seem to care about her have been her best friend, Eliot, and the mysterious letter-writer who sends her birthday gifts. But now strange things and people are arriving on the island Lottie calls home, and Eliot’s getting sicker, with a disease the doctors have given up trying to cure. Lottie is helpless, useless, powerless.

And then a door opens in the apple tree.

Follow Lottie down through the apple roots to another world—a world of magic both treacherous and beautiful—in pursuit of the impossible: a cure for the incurable, a use for the useless, and protection against the pain of loss.


Praise for The Water and the Wild

The Water and The Wild is a debut children's fantasy that feels akin to the British childhood favorites I grew up reading--The Chronicles of Narnia, The Dark Is Rising, and Alice in Wonderland. So introduce your child to a modern classic in the making or read it yourself in nostalgic remembrance." --Jill Hendrix, Fiction Addiction

"Engaging. imaginative."-Kirkus Reviews

"Every year on her birthday Lottie receives a letter granting her birthday wish from a magic apple tree in her front yard. So, when her best friend's illness takes a turn for the worse, Lottie asks for one thing, a cure to save his life. Instead of a letter though, Lottie receives two sprites who take her through the apple tree to their world. There she must weigh the importance of her friend's life against the lives of an entire world of sprites. A fun debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia." --Brandi Stewart, Changing Hands Bookstore, Tempe, AZ

"Humorous descriptions and vivid creatures. should keep many readers intrigued."--Publishers Weekly

"I can't wait for the next book by Ormsbee that will take me back to New Albion - land of sprites, wisps, barghests, and more magical beings. Besides the adventurous journey that Lottie Fiske embarks on, this book is, at its core, about our need for connection and friends. Whether you're a sprite or a halfling, we all want to be understood as well as be understanding." --Valerie Welbourn, The Fountainhead Bookstore, Hendersonville, NC

"Lottie was an orphan that had been adopted by Mr. Yates. Mrs. Yates was not in charge since he has passed away, and she did not care about Lottie. Outside Lottie's room was an apple tree, and she had found a box at the base of it. A picture of her parents was in it and a message. Lottie's best friend was dying and she was determined to find a cure for him. One night Lottie finds herself being taken into the apple tree and spirited away to another world. Great read! Her determination to save her friend, Eliot, takes her on a wild journey." --Sue Mason, Waucoma Bookstore, Hood River, Oregon."

K.E. (Kathryn) Ormsbee writes Middle Grade and Young Adult books. Her debut novel, THE WATER AND THE WILD, is a Middle Grade fantasy and will be published by Chronicle Books on April 14, 2015, with a sequel to follow in Fall 2016. Her YA debut, LUCKY FEW, will be published by Simon & Schuster in 2016.

In her wild, early years, she taught English as a Foreign Language, interned with a film society, and did a lot of irresponsible road tripping. Her crowning achievement is that the back of her head was in an iPhone commercial, and people actually paid her money for it.

Nowadays, she teaches piano lessons, plays in a band you've never heard of, and run races that she never wins. She likes clothes from the 60s, music from the 70s, and movies from the 80s. She still satiates her wanderlust whenever she can.

One Thing Stolen 
by Beth Kephart
4/15/15
Chronicle Books
Something is not right with Nadia Cara. While spending a year in Florence, Italy, she's become a thief. She has secrets. And when she tries to speak, the words seem far away. Nadia finds herself trapped by her own obsessions and following the trail of an elusive Italian boy whom only she has seen. Can Nadia be rescued or will she simply lose herself altogether? Set against the backdrop of a glimmering city, One Thing Stolen is an exploration of obsession, art, and a rare neurological disorder. It is a celebration of language, beauty, imagination, and the salvation of love.

Praise for One Thing Stolen

"Rivetingly captures the destructive effects of mental and physical illness on a likable, sweet-natured teen."--Kirkus Reviews

"An enigmatic, atmospheric, and beautifully written tale."--Booklist, starred review

"Kephart's artful novel attests to the power of love and beauty to thrive even in the most devastating of circumstances."-School Library Journal

"One Thing Stolen is a masterwork-a nest of beauty and loss, a flood of passion so sweet one can taste it. This is no ordinary book. It fits into no box It is its own box-its own language." --Printz award winner A.S. King

Beth Kephart is the award-winning author of books for both adults and young readers, includingGoing OverYou Are My OnlySmall Damages, and Handling the Truth. She lives in Devon, Pennsylvania.

Win a copy of The Water and the Wild or a copy of One Thing Stolen!
Chronicle Books has generously offered  one copy of each book.
Details
-US/CAN only
-ends 4/5 at 11:59 pm ET
-each book will have one winner
(please read full list of rules at the bottom of this post
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Unless otherwise stated, the policies and rules for each giveaway are as follows:
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN.  Open only to legal residents of the 50 United States and Washington D.C. who are 13 years old or older as of date of entry.
To enter, fill out the appropriate Rafflecopter form associated with each giveaway.
The start and end dates for each giveaway will be clearly stated and followed.
The specified amount of winners shall be selected in a random drawing.
Winners will be notified by email and must claim their prize within 48 hours. If a winner does not respond within 48 hours, then a new winner will be chosen.
Word Spelunking is not responsible for lost, damaged, or stolen prizes in the mail. Once a prize is dropped off at the post office, it is no longer my responsibility and I will not compensate in anyway for prizes not delivered because of the USPS.
If a third-party (author, publisher, etc) is shipping a prize, once I provide the winner(s)' mailing information to them, the prize is no longer my responsibility. I will forward your mailing info to the proper people within 48 hours after getting it from you. If you have not received your prize from an author or publisher within 8 weeks, it is your responsibility to contact them further.
By participating in any giveaway, you agree to adhere to these rules. Any breaking of these rules by entrants will disqualify them from the giveaway and their entries will be deleted.

2 comments:

Manju Howard said...

Thanks for sharing these two interesting books. As an MG writer, I'm drawn to The Water and the Wild.

anne s. said...

I'd be interested in The Water and the Wild. THANKS!