Current Giveaways

more giveaways soon!

Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Monday, August 19, 2019

Great Back To School Books!


Today I have a list of some great back to school books...



From National Geographic 

National Geographic Kids Beginner’s World Atlas, 4th ed (ages 7-10, published simultaneously in paperback and hardcover) - It’s a BIG world out there and this OVERSIZED, kid-friendly, and completely redesigned and updated edition of the Beginner’s World Atlas introduces kids to the people, places, animals and environments of our planet. Nat Geo has combined their world-famous map-making skills and color photography with input from specialists in early elementary education to create an atlas custom designed for kids ages 7-10.  Large physical maps make it easy to find each continent's mountains, rivers, grasslands, wetlands and other features while up-to-date political maps name the countries and cities that make up the continents. Key points reflecting the latest information about the land, climate, animals, languages, products and more are highlighted in the accompanying text. It's the perfect reference for kids to learn about lands close to home or oceans away--ideal for classroom use, homework help, and armchair exploration. 
  
National Geographic Kids Student World Atlas, 5th ed (middle school/high school, published simultaneously in paperback and hardcover) - Winner of the Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students, the Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People and the Parent’s Guide to Children’s Media Award, the new fifth edition of National Geographic's award-winning atlas is the definitive atlas for middle and high-school students to explore and use in the classroom, college prep, and at home. Dynamic, user-friendly content includes photos, facts, charts, online resources, graphics, and full-color political, physical, and thematic maps on important topics. Completely updated maps and statistics from the cartographic experts at National Geographic ensure that kids have all the latest information as they learn more about current events and become global citizens. 
  
Brain Games: Mighty Book of Mind Benders (ages 8-12, paperback) - Summer is almost done, time turn the brain back ON! Chock-full of puzzles, optical illusions, cranial challenges, and information on the latest research in neuroscience, this awesome activity book helps kids flex their "thinking muscles” in a fun and engaging way.  Crosswords, word searches, cryptograms, tough logic puzzles, memory tests, wacky riddles, and exercises to try with a friend will bring out the genius within.   Write-in pages include puzzles and games, time trials test skills in each chapter and short explanations of the neuroscience at work are also included within the 160 page book.  
  
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure - (ages 8-12, paperback) -  In the first activity book based on the Explorer Academy, kids test their knowledge of ancient codes and ciphers in a series of puzzles designed to challenge the cryptography-obsessed. When kids successfully navigate the codes, they are rewarded with a first-class tour of the Academy. “Hubbard’s Hints” are provided as well as an answer key and a Certificate of Completion.     
  
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt (ages 8-12, hardcover) -  Kids everywhere are fascinated by the wonders of ancient Egypt, and this reference book is packed with not only 1,000 fascinating facts but hundreds of photos as well. From the Great Pyramid and the Valley of the Kings to the Nile River and the amazing female rulers of that time (not just Cleopatra!), kids can dive deep into Egyptoplogy and learn about ancient hieroglyphs and their meanings, find out what was in King Tut's tomb, discover sacred facts about their religion and rituals, get insights about the science of mummification and even touch upon the unexpected — like Ancient Egypt’s impact on pop culture, how cosmetics were used and 25 facts about their system of crime and punishment! 

This back to school season, National Geographic offers up five engaging, entertaining, and educational books for readers of all ages: two captivating world atlases (for both younger and older readers), two invigorating books full of brain games, codebreaking fun, and more, and an awesomely absorbing book about ancient Egypt. All five books will encourage creativity, challenge young minds, and offer hours of great reading! 



Picture Books 

The Seekers 
By Hari & Deepti 
August 6, 2019 
Knopf BFYR 

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey. 

Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales everyone else believed were only legends--everyone, that is, but Mio. 

When the life-giving river that flows through their village is mysteriously threatened, Mio and Nao set out beyond their valley to find out what has gone wrong. The farther they get from home, they find lifeless trees and skies filled with smoke. The other villagers grow weary of their mission until they are confronted with their childhood legends come to vivid life and have to risk everything to save their home. 

Depicted through intricate cut-paper art, this memorable tale will remind readers of the importance of home while still striving to discover the world around you. 

Hari & Deepti’s The Seekers is a mesmerizing and deeply felt picture book, full of adventure, heart, and a timely message. Readers will fall in love with the wonderfully woven tale and the dazzling cut-paper illustrations, full of the most stunning colors and scenes. 


Duck! 
By Meg McKinlay 
Illustrated by Nathaniel Eckstrom 
August 13, 2019 
Candlewick Press 

A delightfully duckish tale of farmyard disaster. 

It’s a quiet day on the farm until Duck arrives. When he starts calling out “DUCK!”, the other animals think he’s just being rude. “You can’t just run around yelling out your name!” they grumble. 

But what if that’s not what Duck means at all? Perhaps ignoring him could have unexpected consequences … 

This hilarious picture book begs reading aloud and active participation. 

Meg McKinlay’s Duck! is laugh-out-loud laugh hoot of a picture book about the importance of listening to even the littlest voices! Clever, sweetly amusing, and delightfully entertaining, little readers will get a kick out of the funny tale and enjoy the engaging and quirky illustrations. 


Looking for Yesterday 
By Alison Jay 
August 20, 2019 
Candlewick Press 

How can tomorrow ever be as good as yesterday? Boy doesn't think it can be and puts all his scientific knowledge to use, trying to work out how to go faster than the speed of light and make time go backwards. His grandad discovers him exploring the garden looking for wormholes, a possible shortcut back to yesterday - and reassures him that tomorrow will hold great experiences, which will become new treasured memories. 

Alison Jay’s Looking for Yesterday is a gorgeously heartwarming picture book, with a deeply felt message. With sweet storytelling, fun text placement, and illustrations so full of whimsy; details; and a beautiful classic vibe, little readers will be absolutely captivated by this book. 


Paper Son 
The Inspiring Story of Tyrus Wong, Immigrant and Artist 
By Julie Leung 
Illustrated by Chris Sasaki 
September 24, 2019 
Penguin RandomHouse 

An inspiring picture-book biography of animator Tyrus Wong, the Chinese American immigrant responsible for bringing Disney's Bambi to life.  

Before he became an artist named Tyrus Wong, he was a boy named Wong Geng Yeo. He traveled across a vast ocean from China to America with only a suitcase and a few papers. Not papers for drawing--which he loved to do--but immigration papers to start a new life. Once in America, Tyrus seized every opportunity to make art, eventually enrolling at an art institute in Los Angeles. Working as a janitor at night, his mop twirled like a paintbrush in his hands. Eventually, he was given the opportunity of a lifetime--and using sparse brushstrokes and soft watercolors, Tyrus created the iconic backgrounds of Bambi. 

Julie Leung and Chris Sasaki perfectly capture the beautiful life and work of a painter who came to this country with dreams and talent--and who changed the world of animation forever. 

Paper Son is a beautifully crafted own voices picture book about an extraordinary artist. Through smart, well researched and well-presented text and stunning, stylized illustrations, the author and illustrator bring the life and work of Tyrus Wong to life wonderfully. This lovely picture book will inspire and encourage thoughtful discussions. 




**I received copies of the titles above for review/feature purposes. All thoughts, opinions, and reviews are my own.