Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Monday, October 29, 2018

How Do You Take A Bath? Blog Tour (review)



How Do You Take a Bath? 
By Kate McMullan 
Illustrated by Sydney Hanson 
October 23, 2018 
Random House 
Source: pub 

Perfect for fans of Five Little Monkeys Jump in the Bath, this fun and educational picture book brings together adorable baby animals and bathtime. 

How do YOU take a bath?  
Does your mama comb your fur? 
Do you shake off all your dirt? 
Do you splash and flap and quack? 
Do the birdies peck your back? 
No! 

Follow elephants, pigs, monkeys, hippos, and more in this charming rhyming picture book from veteran author Kate McMullan. How does a pig take a bath? It sinks in the mud! What about a chicken? It thrashes about in dust! And a cat? Why, it licks itself clean, of course! Sydney Hanson's adorable illustrations toggle neatly between animals in nature grooming themselves and humorous depictions of children attempting the animals' bathing tactics. By the end of the book, the child finally makes his way to the bathtub, no mud baths or lick baths about it!



Did you know polar bears scrub their faces clean with snow? Or that turtles let little fish clean their shells? Join an adorable array of little animals (and a few cute kids) in their bathtime routines in Kate McMullan’s How Do You Take a Bath? and discover all the unique ways little ones take a bath. 

McMullan’s sweet, rhyming text takes little ones on a fun and educational journey around the globe to find out how different animals take a bath. From dusty chickens to hairy bees, cat tongue baths, and good ole fashioned bubble baths, little readers will be charmed and amused by each page. Hanson’s dreamy bathtime scenes, full of soft colors, super cute animals, and diverse kids, beautifully capture the story. 

How Do You Take a Bath? will make bathtime a joyous, sweet adventure for little readers!


Kate McMullan taught elementary school in inner-city Los Angeles and on an American Air Force base in Germany. After earning a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education, she decided to try her hand at writing, and settled in New York City. She also writes under the names K.H. McMullan and Katy Hall and has more than 50 children’s books to her credit, including her bestselling picture book collaborations with her husband Jim.



Monday, October 22, 2018

Duck On A Disco Ball Blog Tour (review & giveaway)




Duck on a Disco Ball 
By Jeff Mack 
November 1, 2018 
Two Lions 
Source: from pub 

Bedtime has never been so silly! 

Every night it’s the same old story. A boy wants to stay up late, but his parents won’t let him. But sometimes in the morning, he notices things look a little off—like when he sees a disco ball in the kitchen…with his toy duck on it. So one night he decides to stay up. And that’s when the fun really begins. 

Silliness builds with each page of this high-energy, pun-filled companion to Duck in the Fridge until the moment when sleep eventually takes hold and morning arrives once more.


watch the book trailer





What happens after I go to sleep? What do mom and dad really get up to? And why was my duck on a disco ball this morning? These are the unusual questions one little boy sets out to answer as he stays up past bedtime, sneaks downstairs, and sees...something unbelievable! 

Jeff Mack’s Duck On A Disco Ball is a giggle-snort inducing page turner from start to finish! With pitch-perfect storytelling, Mack takes little readers on one wildly unforgettable late-night adventure full of wacky happenings, clever puns, corny jokes, and non-stop fun. Little readers will have a blast watching each sillier and wackadoodle event unfold. Mack’s energetic, engaging, and eye-catching illustrations wonderfully bring this amusing, wilder-than-dreams story to life. 

For every kid who’s ever wondered what the grown-ups do after they fall asleep, Duck On A Disco Ball offers a charmingly quirky and irresistible answer.  





Jeff Mack is the award-winning author and illustrator of Duck in the Fridge; Mine!; Ah Ha!; Good News, Bad News; and the Hippo and Rabbit series. He has also illustrated many books, including If My Love Were a Fire Truck by Luke Reynolds. His books have been awarded the Texas 2x2, a Junior Library Guild award, a Colorado Bell Award, a Pennsylvania Family Literacy Award, a New York Public Library Best Book of the Year Award, and a Bank Street Best Book of the Year award. Jeff lives in Massachusetts. Visit him online at jeffmack.com. 
Twitter: @jeffmackbooks Facebook: JeffMackBooks




Win both books in this series!
One lucky winner will receive a copy of BOTH books featuring the silly duck--Duck in the Fridge and Duck On a Disco Ball, courtesy of Two Lions.
-US only
-ends 10/28/18
-winner will be emailed and must claim prize within 48 hours
-word spelunking is not responsible for lost, damaged, stolen prizes

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 19, 2018

Absolutely Everything Blog Tour (video & giveaway)


Welcome to Day #5 of the Absolutely Everything! Blog Tour!

To celebrate the release of Absolutely Everything! by Christopher Lloyd on October 15th, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive videos from Christopher, plus 5 chances to win a copy of Absolutely Everything!


To Be Continued, Pockets 13-15
by Christopher Lloyd

The final segment of Christopher Lloyd’s Pocket History of the World races through the scientific revolution, a century from 1845 to 1945 where everybody seemed to be fighting everyone else, finally emerging the world we are familiar with today. The story never really ends because there are so many issues still waiting to play out in the future including how to solve pollution, having mutual respect for each other and knowing how to deal with the rise of robots. 



*****

Blog Tour Schedule:

October 15th – Java John Z's
October 16th – Beach Bound Books
October 17th – Book Briefs
October 18th – Chat With Vera
October 19th – Word Spelunking

Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced, entertaining and incredibly informative history of the world, from the beginning of time to the present day.

How was our universe made from a tiny speck of energy? Where did the first trees, plants, animals and humans come from? What happened to the dinosaurs? What was so miserable about medieval times? How were railroads and electricity invented? What are the perils of global warming?

From the Neanderthals to the Wright Brothers, from the Silk Trade to the Industrial Revolution, from dinosaurs to plastic, embark on an entertaining journey across millennia and continents. With photos, illustrations, timelines and maps in every chapter, there is no better way to understand the earth’s entire history than with this captivating book by Christopher Lloyd, author of the bestselling What on Earth Happened.

About the Author: Christopher Lloyd graduated with a double-first class degree in history from Cambridge University. He was Science Correspondent with The Sunday Times newspaper in London and is now a bestselling author of more than 15 books, including What on Earth Happened? The Complete Story of the Planet, Life and People from the Big Bang to the Present Day (Bloomsbury) and the Big History Timeline Wallbook series from What on Earth Books. A TEDx speaker, he is in great demand throughout the world at conferences, educational seminars, museums, festivals, and schools. 



GIVEAWAY

One (1) winner will receive a copy of Absolutely Everything! by Christopher Lloyd
-US only
-ends 10/26/18
-winner will be emailed and must claim prize within 48 hours
-Word Spelunking is not responsible for lost, damaged, stolen prizes
a Rafflecopter giveaway