Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Thursday, May 8, 2014

The Forbidden Library Blog Tour {Guest Post & Giveaway}


I'm very excited to have The Forbidden Library Blog Tour stopping by today with a super fun Guest Post and book Giveaway...


Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of CoralineInkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Django to SethOne of Mia’s classmates tells her that he’s a vampire and has been floating outside her window watching her sleep.  What does she do about it?

I’d like to make a disclaimer here and say I’ve read all of the Twilight books and this question you happen to ask hits on the one note I always found really weird about the books – yes, the guy is ‘perfect’ cause he’ll faun over Belle forever, but man, I’d never fall asleep if this happened to me.

 This is something that Mia has never wished for, or dreamed of, at all.  She'd be happy with a good guy, sure. But a stalker who has no agency of his own?  Nope.  Sharpen up the stakes.  I mean, imagine it: she’s at this elite prep school and every student there is super rich. The boys are annoying and haughty and if the one who’s a direct descendent of a Habsburgian prince called himself a vampire and floated outside her window she’d be creeped out. She’d tell her friends and not keep it a secret.  Rob would do research and figure out how to take this guy out and Mia would ask her dad for help and either the vampire would be killed by his own kind for telling too many people about vampires, or he’d get uninterested and go stalk someone more desperate. 



The Forbidden Library
by Django Wexler
4/15/14
Penguin
The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of CoralineInkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere.
Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy.
When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.
It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Django Wexler is the author of The Thousand Names. He lives near Seattle, Washington.

The Well's End
by Seth Fishman
2/25/14
Penguin
A deadly virus and an impossible discovery unite in one enthralling can’t-miss read... 
Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish has always been afraid of the dark. After all, she’s baby Mia, the one who fell down a well. That was years ago, though the darkness still haunts her. But when her classmates and teachers at ritzy Westbrook Academy start dying of old age from a bizarre and frightening virus that ages its victims years in a matter of hours, Mia becomes haunted by a lot more than the dark. Their deaths are gruesome and Mia worries she and her friends may be next. In order to survive, Mia and her small crew must break quarantine and outrun armed soldiers in hazmat suits who shoot first and ask questions later.
And there’s only one place to go—the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics. Mia knows it’s somehow connected and hopes her dad, Director of Fenton Electronics, who has always been strangely secretive about his work, has the answers she needs, and more importantly a cure to save everyone before the whole town succumbs to the mysterious virus. Unfortunately, it’s not answers Mia discovers, but something far more treacherous and impossible than even the virus itself. 
A high-stakes, fast-paced adventure with imagination and heart.

Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England.  He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.  This is his first novel (that's not in a drawer). 

Win a finished copy of 
The Forbidden Library!
Penguin has generously offered up one copy to give away.
DETAILS
-US only
-ends 5/17
-must be 13+, one free entry per person
-winner will be emailed and must claim prize within 48 hours
-Word Spelunking is NOT responsible for lost, damaged, or stolen prizes
Fill out Rafflecopter form:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 comments:

Brenda said...

Love this author duo escaping from book scenes, such fun! The Books of Elsewhere and talking cat, plus hidden library, sounds wonderful. And a deadly virus that ages you, sounds creepy but intriguing. If I could step in a book it would have to be Harry Potter, I would want to see it all. Thanks for the fun post.

anne s. said...

I would love to be in The Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library. Have been looking fwd to reading the Forbidden Library. Hope to snatch this copy :)

Carl Scott said...

That would be tricky since a lot of my favorite books take place in dark and dangerous places where I wouldn't want to live. How about an old Dr. Suess book, McElligot's Pool?

Judy said...

I would like to be in Pride & Prejudice.

Bluerose said...

I'd be terrified to actually be in any of my favorite books(Wildwood Dancing, Tales of Goldstone Wood, Entwined, etc), so I'll have to pick the world of Mitford(Jan Karon) since it's fresh on my mind.

Jillyn said...

I'd love to fall into Eragon. I'd be so excited to be among elves and dragons!

Amy Mays said...

I would love to be inside any of the Harry potter books.

Sayomay said...

I would want to be sucked into either Eragon's world or Hogwart's!!
Mary G Loki

Dan L. said...

(This is Darith L.)

I'd like to be found inside the world of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld! Those hoverboards sound awesome!

Yvonne said...

Soman Chainani's The School for Good and Evil.