Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Friday, July 6, 2018

New and Upcoming Summer Reads


I'm back with another awesome list of new and upcoming books to check out this summer...




My First Wild Activity Book 
By Isabel Otter-Barry Ross 
Illustrated by Maxime Lebrun 
2018 
Silver Dolphin Books 

Become an explorer and meet wild animals from all around the world in this action-packed activity book! 

Become an explorer and meet wild animals from all around the world in this action-packed activity book. There are seven different habitats to discover, from the rain forest to the polar ice, and a wide variety of activities to complete along the way, including coloring, dot-to-dots, doodles, and mazes—get ready for hours of wild animal fun! 

Henry and the Yeti 
By Russell Ayto 
August 14, 2018 
Bloomsbury Children's Books 

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy's quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. 

Henry loves yetis. 

Yes, yetis. 

The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He has packed everything he needs, including a camera to take photos for evidence. But can he find a yeti? And will anyone believe him when he returns home? 

Told through charming illustrations, this is a heart-warming and witty story about believing in yourself (and yetis). 


The Secrets of Tutankhamun: Egypt's Boy King and his Incredible Tomb 
By Patricia Cleveland-Peck 
Illustrated by Isabel Greenberg 
August 21, 2018 
Bloomsbury Children's Books 

The fascinating story of the famous boy pharaoh, complete with stunning art from a New York Times bestselling illustrator. 

Tutankhamun was born in a time of change. His father, Atakhenaten, instituted broad political and religious reform through Egypt, and when a nine-year-old Tut ascended the throne after his father’s unexpected death, he found himself at the center of the controversy. He was the youngest king Egypt had ever had, and his short, tumultuous rule ended when he died at the age of 19. 

Over three thousand years later, Howard Carter, an archaeologist with a penchant for ancient history and a special skill for excavation in Egypt's Valley of the Kings, made a discovery that shocked the world: Tut's tomb, long assumed destroyed, not only survived but was fully intact. The treasures within gave a stunning and undisturbed perspective on ancient Egyptian culture and uncovered secrets that fascinated the world. 


To Pluto & Beyond: The Amazing Voyage of New Horizons
By Eline Scott 
July 17, 2018 
Viking BFYR 

New Horizons was designed by NASA to study Pluto and the fringes of our solar system, farther away than any spacecraft has ever explored. Join science writer Elaine Scott as she tells the story of this mission. 

For Stephen Hawking, New Horizons signifies that "We explore because we are human and we want to know." This remarkable ship, no bigger than a piano, and using no more energy than a lightbulb, has already traveled three billion miles out to Pluto, and is continuing on to the Kuiper Belt, the farthest reaches of our solar system. The book will feature the beautiful, amazingly sharp photographs it is sending back from its journey, which are letting scientists fill in the blanks in our knowledge of Pluto--and delivering a few surprises along the way. 

Elaine Scott tells the exciting story of everyone's favorite planet, from Pluto's discovery through the frustrating attempts to study such a distant object, the creation of the New Horizons project, scientists' hopes and expectations for the mission, and what is being discovered. Her clear, engaging prose does more than narrate the events. By showing how scientists operate, their hypotheses, hopes, and disappointments, and how they make use of them, she gives readers an inspiring portrait of the scientific method itself. 


Mightier Than The Sword
By Drew Callander and Alana Harrison 
July 10, 2018 
Penguin 

"Hilarious, fun, and wonderfully insane! It's more than just a book--it's a book you can play!"--Kristen Schaal  

Wildly funny and inventive, this interactive book pulls you, the reader, into the action. Yes, YOU! 

You wake up in the fictional land of Astorya, where stories from our world come to life. You're a real human being (we assume), and in this fictional world, that makes you a superhero. Armed with your trusty pencil you have the power to create: what you write, draw, or scribble in the book becomes part of the story! 

Only you can rescue Prince S. from the evil Queen Rulette. Aided by the Couriers--a French stoat with dangerous dance moves, a giant dung beetle, a fire ninja, a Pegasus-centaur-cowgirl and a super-intelligent femalien chameleon--you must write, draw, and puzzle your way through a hilarious adventure that is unique to every reader! And most importantly, you must prove that the pencil is mightier than the sword. 


The Girl With More Than One Heart 
By Laura Geringer Bass 
April 17, 2018 
Abrams 

There are times we all feel we need more than one heart to get through. When Briana’s father dies, she imagines she has a new heart growing inside her. It speaks to her in her Dad’s voice. Some of its commands are mysterious.  

Find Her!  it says. Be Your Own!   

How can Briana “be her own” when her grieving mother needs her to take care of her demanding little brother all the time? When all her grandpa can do is tell stories instead of being the “rock" she needs? When her not-so-normal home life leaves no time to pursue her dream of writing for the school literary magazine? When the first blush of a new romance threatens to be nipped in the bud? Forced by the loss of her favorite parent to see all that was once familiar with new eyes, Briana draws on her own imagination, originality, and tender loving heart to discover a surprising path through the storm. 



*I received copies of the books above for review and/or feature purposes.

No comments: