Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

New and Upcoming Picture Books


I'm thrilled to share five new and upcoming picture books to watch out for in May and June!


If You Had A Jetpack 
Words by Lisl H. Detlefsen 
Illustrated by Linzie Hunter 
April 24, 2018 
Alfred A. Knopf BFYR 

A fun and creative answer to the question "what would YOU do if you had a jetpack?" perfect for fans of Boy and Bot and How to Train a Train. 

Having a jetpack is fun--if you know what to do with one.

If you had a jetpack, you could:  
* Teach your brother how to build one too. * Demonstrate its usefulness at Show and Share Time at school. * Give your principal a ride home. * Fly south to visit your nana. * Visit the astronauts on the space station and help with anything that needed fixing. Join one inventive little rabbit as he and his brother put their new jetpack to good use! 

Bursting with imagination, silly funnies, and bright, bold pictures, If You Had A Jetpack is a fun read that will have little readers giggling and dreaming up their own jetpack designs.


Pink Is For Boys 
By Robb Pearlmann 
Illustrated by Eda Kaban 
June 5, 2018 
Running Press 

An empowering and educational picture book that proves colors are for everyone, regardless of gender. 

Pink is for boys . . . and girls . . . and everyone! This timely and beautiful picture book rethinks and reframes the stereotypical blue/pink gender binary and empowers kids-and their grown-ups-to express themselves in every color of the rainbow. Featuring a diverse group of relatable characters, Pink Is for Boys invites and encourages girls and boys to enjoy what they love to do, whether it's racing cars and playing baseball, or loving unicorns and dressing up. Vibrant illustrations help children learn and identify the myriad colors that surround them every day, from the orange of a popsicle, to the green of a grassy field, all the way up to the wonder of a multicolored rainbow. 
 Parents and kids will delight in Robb Pearlman's sweet, simple script, as well as its powerful message: life is not color-coded. 

Pink Is For Boys is such a timely book with an important message about gender stereotypes and celebrating the colorfulness of life. With accessible, charming text and illustrations drenched in stunning colors, this book is the perfect way to not only entertain little readers but to start empowering conversations.


Drawn Together 
By Minh Lee 
Ilustrated by Dan Santat 
June 5, 2018 
Disney-Hyperion 

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens-with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words. 

With spare, direct text by Minh L and luminous illustrations by Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat, this stirring picturebook about reaching across barriers will be cherished for years to come. 

Drawn Together is a mesmerizing and powerful exploration of family and cultural and generational differences as well as a captivating celebration of art. So much is said with so few words and pages of the most gorgeous and awesome illustrations bursting with color and life. Readers of all ages will be absolutely blown away by what this book is able to capture and convey!


We Don't Eat Our Classmates 
By Ryan T. Higgins 
June 19, 2018 
Disney-Hyperion 

It's the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can't wait to meet her classmates. But it's hard to make human friends when they're so darn delicious! That is, until Penelope gets a taste of her own medicine and finds she may not be at the top of the food chain after all. . . . 

We Don't Eat Our Classmates is laugh out loud funny and wonderfully heartfelt. Higgins surprising story and cute illustrations will amuse little readers and parents alike. Perfect for kids just starting school or worried about making friends.


Bear's Scare 
By Jacob Grant 
June 12, 2018 
Bloomsbury Children's Books 

Bear likes to keep his house clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing Bear loves more than cleaning is taking care of his small stuffed friend, Ursa. 

Then Bear sees a sticky spiderweb . . . and where there's a web there is certainly a spider! The messy guest must be found, but what Bear and Ursa finally discover might just be an unlikely friend. 
 Opposites attract in this adorable story, where new friends come in all shapes and sizes.  

Bear's Scare is a sweet and whimsical story about an unlikely friendship. Grant's simple text and quirky illustrations will easily please little readers.


*I received copies of the titles above for review purposes.

No comments: