Current Giveaways

more giveaways to come soon!

Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Penelope March is Melting Blog Tour (review)



Penelope March Is Melting
By Jeffrey Michael Ruby
November 14, 2017
Random House Children’s Books
Source: finished copy from pub

An icy-cold mystery adventure to warm your heart--perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library!

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg . Nothing bad ever happens here. Until now. And it's up to Penelope March to stop it.

Mmm-hmm, that Penelope--the bookworm who lives in the ramshackle house with her brother, Miles. The girl with the mom who--poof!--disappeared. The one everyone ignores . . . except strange Coral Wanamaker, a tiny thing with raven-black hair and a black coat.

When Penelope meets someone who seems to know secrets not only about Glacier Cove but about Penelope herself, she and Miles are pulled into an ancient mystery. Together, they'll face the coldest, cruelest enemy ever known. Looks like the girl who only reads about adventures is going to start living one.

Magic cookies! Volcanoes! Penguins! Sea monsters! And a girl hero with the strength and imagination to spring into action.



WATCH THE BOOK TRAILER




Twelve year old Penelope March is a self proclaimed bookworm whose best friend is her brother Miles. Together, Penelope and Miles live with their distant father in a barely held together shack in the nothing ever happens here town of Glacier Cove. Glacier Cove is your average little town, with shops, a school, and gossips...except Glacier Cove is located on a isolated iceberg floating in the middle of the ocean. And when not so normal and kind of freaky bizarre things begin to happen, Penelope finds herself immersed in an anything but average adventure featuring a kook with a chainsaw, a strange girl, military penguins, magic cookies, and a mysterious and terrifying monster!

Jeffrey Michael Ruby’s Penelope March Is Melting is an imaginative and exciting middle-grade debut! Bursting with a freezer full of laughs, heart, and thrilling adventure, this is certainly a page turner.

With fast-paced action, whimsical and amusing storytelling, a quirky setting, and engaging characters, Penelope March Is Melting is fresh, unforgettable, and captivating. Ruby expertly weaves a story that is anything but predictable, with its zany and wonderfully outlandish twists, turns, and surprises that will thrill young readers. Glacier Cove, the shouldn’t-exist-but-totally-does town on an iceberg, makes for a truly unique and awesomely wacky setting.

Ruby offers readers an eclectic and fun assortment of characters! From bookish, brave Penelope to sunny Miles; mysterious Coral; wackadoodle Buzzardstock; and the most unusual and likable bunch of penguins you’ll ever meet, young readers will be mesmerized by the humor, heart, and strangeness of them all.

With an out-of-the-box setting, exciting adventure, and unforgettable characters, Penelope March Is Melting will make even the hardest to please bookworms smile!

MY RATING
4/5 Cupcakes


Jeffrey Michael Ruby is the chief dining critic of Chicago magazine. He is the coauthor of Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America’s Favorite Food, and has also played college basketball in Ireland, assisted in an autopsy, and sumo wrestled in front of 20,000 people in New Jersey. He lives in Chicago with his wife and three children. Penelope March Is Melting is his first novel. Visit Jeffrey at jeffrubymedia.com, @dropkickjeffy on Twitter, and instagram.com/dropkickjeffy.

2 comments:

Brenda said...

This sounds wonderful and perfect for our wintery weather at the moment. Adding it to the TBR.

Jeff Ruby said...

Thank you, Brenda. I hope you do seek it out! And you're right; we always talk about "summer books." Why are there no winter books?