Current Giveaways

Word Spelunking’s temporary hiatus is now permanent. All requests are closed and there will be no new content. Thank you to everyone I’ve worked with and everyone who has read and supported this blog. Y’all are awesome!!

Aeicha @ Word Spelunking

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Snakeroot Blog Tour {Guest Post}

Welcome to the SNAKEROOT blog tour! Bosque Mar haunts the dreams of both Adne and Logan, trying to escape for the Nether, where Calla, Shay and the other Guardians trapped him in the final battle in the War of All Against All... Will he turn Adne to the dark side? Will Logan reclaim his birthright? And will darkness take over our world? Follow the SNAKEROOT blog tour, featuring nine posts from author Andrea Cremer, over the next three weeks to get the inside scoop!

(Nightshade Legacy #1)
by Andrea Cremer

Picking up right where BLOODROSE left off, SNAKEROOT follows two characters readers know well from the original Nightshade trilogy.  Adne, one of the Searchers and Ren's half-sister, is plagued by nightmares featuring the evil Bosque Mar, now trapped in the Nether and looking for a way out.  Adne's power draws him to her, and he wants, more than anything, for her to come to the side of dark magic and free him. Logan Bane, the Keeper who was once set to rule Calla and Ren's Haldis pack, is one of the few of his kind left, after he helped Shay close the rift between our world and the Nether.  But he wants to re-open that rift so he can re-create Guardians and reclaim the Keepers' magic. He raids the Rowan Estate to find what he needs to perform dark, ancient rituals, but Bosque Mar has turned his back on Logan for his treachery, and without his help, Logan is lost.  The two teens are both battling Bosque Mar--one who wants to be left alone, and the other who wants help.

The Nightshade trilogy is set in modern-day Colorado and it follows the journey of Calla Tor, a Guardian wolf, who fights on the front lines of the Witches War. This war began in the Middle Ages when a schism created two factions of witches: Keepers and Searchers. Calla’s story culminates in the final conflict of the Witches War.

Rift and Rise reveal how the Witches War began, how Keepers and Searchers took sides in a struggle over magic and its place in the world, and how Guardians were first created. The beginning of this conflict and the way Bosque Mar first gains entrance to our world play an important part in the events of Snakeroot. The prequel novels tell the origin story of the Nightshade world and reveal the ways in which events of the past can have pivotal influence on the present.

The best reading order of the Nightshade novels is truly up to each reader. The Nightshade trilogy was written first and readers familiar with those novels will discover
that Rift and Rise answer many questions about the Witches War and the history of the Keepers and Searchers. If the prequels are read first they provide a deeper understanding of the how the war began and the true history of Keepers, Searchers, and Guardians.

Andrea Cremer is the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series, which includes the critically acclaimed Nightshade, Wolfsbane, Bloodrose, Rift and Rise. She went to school until there wasn't any more school to go to, ending with a Ph.D. in early modern history--a reflection of her fascination with witchcraft and warfare--and taught for years at Macalester College.  She grew up roaming the forests and lakeshores of northern Wisconsin, but now lives in New York City, where she roams the sidewalks and riverbanks of the concrete jungle she calls home.

1 comment:

The Cover Contessa said...

I really love Cremer's writing. I read this a few weeks ago and enjoyed it. But I have to say I didn't love it as much as the first three Nightshade books. I am looking forward to seeing where the series goes, though.