Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Friday, April 3, 2020

What I Like About Me Blog Tour (guest post & giveaway)


Welcome to the What I Like About Me Blog Tour!

To celebrate the US release of What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume on April 1st, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive original content from Jenna, as well as 10 chances to win a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror, as well as one grand prize giveaway of a book, mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses!


5 Books that Defined My Teen Years
by Jenna Guillaume


1. Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta
Melina Marchetta is the queen of Australian YA. She is more known these days for Jellicoe Road, but Looking for Alibrandi was her debut, and for a long time (i.e. most of my teen years) the only book she had out. I reread it every single year, and always found something new to relate to. It was like a best friend to me; a source of comfort that got me through some of the most difficult times.

2. Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews
VC Andrews books were huge when I was a teen. I read this when I was waaaaaaay too young and was absolutely obsessed. Despite the fact that it is deeply (DEEPLY) problematic, it still holds a special place in my heart. There’s no doubt about it, Andrews was a captivating (if twisted) storyteller.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
I first read Pride and Prejudice when I was 17, and, perhaps because I’d watched the BBC mini-series when I was younger, it immediately felt like coming home. Even to this day, whenever I reread it, it’s like slipping under a warm blanket and getting all cozy. The characters are all so wonderful and real, they feel like my actual friends. And Mr Darcy! Don’t even get me started on Mr Darcy. He’s the literary love of my life.

4. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
This was one of the first rom-coms I read, and I have a distinct memory of lying on my bed, laughing until I couldn’t breathe because I found it so damn funny. I didn’t realise this while I was writing What I Like About Me, but now that I think about it, the voice in Bridget Jones’s Diary definitely influenced me as I was developing Maisie and her own journal style.

5. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
I went through a stage in my later teen years where I thought I was too old for YA (how wrong I was!). One of my good friends was still addicted to YA, and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series in particular. I was obnoxiously judgey about it, until one day she forced me to read the books myself. Of course, I instantly loved them. It was a wake-up call to me that I was being ridiculous with my notions of what was and wasn’t appropriate for me to read. A good story is a good story, no matter your age!

*****

Blog Tour Schedule:

March 30th - BookHoundsYA
March 31st - Sprinkles of Dreams
April 1st - The Fandom
April 2nd - Fangirlish
April 3rd - Word Spelunking

April 6th - Julie Caught Reading
April 7th - A Dream Within a Dream
April 8th - Mundie Moms
April 9th - Good Choice Reading
April 10th - Crossroad Reviews


“This is the book I would hand to teen me.”
—Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Funny and heartfelt. I loved it." 
—Melina Marchetta, author of On the Jellicoe Road

“Debut author Guillaume's novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own….Perfect for fans of Dumplin’, a hilariously sweet yet complex romance.” 
Kirkus Reviews




Follow Jenna: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Follow Peachtree Publishing: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

You know all those movies where teenagers have, like, THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES? This vacation is probably not going to be that.

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she'd be doing over vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she's spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie's already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she's always loved. But Maisie's got something to prove.


As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn't let anything, or anyone, hold her back.


Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.





About the Author
Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for BuzzFeed Australia, where she wrote about pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and, most importantly, Chris Hemsworth’s biceps. Previously, she worked in the features department of Girlfriend magazine in Australia, writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She also contributed to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl’s completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years. Guillaume lives in Australia. Visit her website at jennaguillaume.com.



GIVEAWAY

  • 10 winners will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One winner will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me, WILAM pocket mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

Brenda said...

I'd have to go with NATIONAL LAMPOON'S VACATION or Weekend at Bernie's for my summertime movies. I can't recall any books especially set in the Summer.

Darlene said...

My favorite book is Gone with the Wind.

Crista c said...

This book seems like like a book i will definitely enjoy.

Crista c said...

My favorite movie is Giget, love this movie even thought it came out way way before i was born.