Current Giveaways

more giveaways coming soon!

Author Assistant Services

Are you an author in need of help and looking for an assistant on a full-time, part-time, or as-needed basis? Well, then I'm your gal! Learn more about the services I provide HERE.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

More Bookish Holiday Gift Ideas


Can you believe the holidays are thisclose to being here?! Luckily, I'm back with another list of awesome *books that would make perfect gifts for the readers in your life...


FROM CANDLEWICK PRESS

author: Richard Platt
illustrator: James Brown
series name: A World of...
How much do clouds weigh? Who invented the pencil? How many ways can you tie a knot? Discover the answers to these and many other questions in this elegant and absorbing miscellany of general knowledge. From music notation to Roman numerals and from the skeleton to the solar system, essential facts are brought to life by stylish infographics and fascinating commentary. Perfect for all ages, this book is sure to amuse and intrigue even the most curious minds.
From Morse code to the bones in the human body, this visually stunning collection of facts and figures puts a world of information at your fingertips.

author: Insight Editions
series name: Harry Potter
The wizarding world’s favorite sport, Quidditch is a magical game played high up in the air with Quaffles, Bludgers, and broomsticks. This interactive book allows fans to project their favorite Quidditch scenes from the Harry Potter films on a wall or ceiling using a flashlight. Read along and experience extraordinary moments from the movies like never before, like when Harry catches the Golden Snitch in his first-ever game of Quidditch.
Using black line illustrations on framed acetate pages, this unique book allows fans to project their favorite scenes from the Harry Potter films at home with a flashlight.

author: Dugald A. Steer
From the secret order of Round Table Knights comes a tell-all guide to the mythical occupation of knighthood — its history, mysterious quests, and puzzles that live on to this day. Inspired by the life of a most exemplary knight, this fascinating book explores the art of mastering sword and lance, the essential (and prohibitively expensive) war-horse, the ins and outs of a castle that a knight might defend, and the skills needed to prevail in a jousting tournament, with all its pageantry. No investigation of knighthood would be complete without a look at the Crusades, and a celebration of legendary knights such as King Arthur, Sir Lancelot, and Sir Gawain, plus vaunted icons such as Excalibur and the Holy Grail. In true ’Ology fashion, this tip of the lance to a noble (and misunderstood) profession offers a variety of interactive flaps and other novelties to keep young squires fully entertained.
What does it really take to be a knight? Peruse this lavish novelty volume and be surprised.

(fun note: Little A, my four year old niece, is obsessed with the book above! she calls it the renaissance fair book!)

author: Kate DiCamillo
illustrator: Jaime Kim
“La la la . . . la.” A little girl stands alone and sings, but hears no response. Gathering her courage and her curiosity, she skips farther out into the world, singing away to the trees and the pond and the reeds — but no song comes back to her. Day passes into night, and the girl dares to venture into the darkness toward the light of the moon, becoming more insistent in her singing, climbing as high as she can, but still there is silence in return. Dejected, she falls asleep on the ground, only to be awakened by an amazing sound. . . . She has been heard. At last. With the simplest of narratives and the near absence of words, Kate DiCamillo conveys a lonely child’s yearning for someone who understands. With a subtle palette and captivating expressiveness, Jaime Kim brings to life an endearing character and a transcendent landscape that invite readers along on an emotionally satisfying journey.
Conceived by Kate DiCamillo and featuring enchanting illustrations by Jaime Kim, this nearly wordless graphic story follows a little girl in search of a friend.

author: Kevin Crossley-Holland
A collaboration by two talented creators provides the perfect means to delve into Norse mythology and pore over the enthralling exploits of all-powerful Odin; mighty Thor and his hammer, Mjolnir; and Loki, the infamous trickster. From the creation of the nine worlds to the final battle of Ragnarok, Carnegie Medal winner Kevin Crossley-Holland details the Viking gods as never before, while Jeffrey Alan Love's lavish illustrations bring the mythic figures to life on the page. Readers will be caught up in the seesawing struggle for power between gods, dwarfs, and giants, punctuated by surprising love matches, thrilling journeys, and dazzling magic. With its well-researched, lyrical prose and its dramatic and powerful artwork, this wonderful gift edition makes the perfect book for both the staunchest fans of mythology and newcomers with no knowledge of Viking folklore.
Long-recognized master of Norse mythology Kevin Crossley-Holland pairs with award-winning artist Jeffrey Alan Love for an exceptional look at the Viking gods.

FROM NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC KIDS

History’s Mysteries: Curious Clues, Cold Cases and Puzzles from the Past - (ages 8-12, $14.99) - New series alert! This new look at history presents puzzles from the past, the clues left behind and the leading scientific theories to help kids learn and decipher what really happened. Fans of Night of the Museum and the Indiana Jones movies will be enthralled by these real life mysteries: why were the Easter Island heads erected? what really happened to the Maya? who stole the Irish Crown Jewels? Sections also cover mores of history's heavy-hitting, head-scratching mysteries, including the Lost Colony of Roanoke, the Bermuda Triangle, the Oak Island Money Pit, Stonehenge, the Sphinx, the disappearance of entire civilizations, the dancing plague, the Voynich manuscript, and so many more. Chock-full of cool photos, fun facts, and spine-tingling mysteries, History’s Mysteries not only provides historical information but also lists important clues and theories for young readers to piece together and consider.

1,000 Facts About the White House - “Tailor-made for browsing but with plenty of nutritious content for young historians and prospective visitors.” - Kirkus
(ages 8-12, $14.99) On the heels of a high-profile renovation and in the midst of what may be considered the most controversial presidency in modern history, no house is more in the spotlight than the president’s residence. Now, in consultation with the White House Historical Association, Nat Geo Kids Books takes kids behind the scenes to explore the people, the grounds, the home and the history of the White House. This book provides a 360-degree view of America's most famous president’s residence, from how it was built in 1792 and the fire of 1812, to today's state dinners, celebrations, celebrity pets, and more. Discover through 1,000 fun-to-read facts what it's like to live and work at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, the quirky rules of the house and how the Secret Service keeps it safe. Find out how the kids who have lived there play, watch movies, and entertain friends. With a treasure trove of material from the White House Historical Association, this book presents a fascinating story of the building and the many people who have shaped its 225-year history.

The World of the Bible: Biblical Stories and the Archaeology Behind Them - (ages 8-12, $14.99) Have you ever wondered about the real location of the Garden of Eden?  Or how Moses could have parted the Red Sea? The World of the Bible takes the reader back to ancient times to revisit classic Bible stories from the Old and New Testaments, learn fascinating facts about biblical history, and explore that same landscape as archaeologists are studying it today. Stories include the Samson and Delilah, Joseph in Egypt, Noah and the Flood, the birth of Jesus, Paul's conversion, and many more.  Classic paintings and photos of the Middle East today enrich the archaeological explanations. Additionally, this book was reviewed by biblical scholars to ensure the most up-to-date and accurate information and includes profiles of important Bible personalities, analysis and explanation of key archaeological sites and maps of the Middle East to provide context to the stories and sites. Kids won't just revisit classic Bible stories in this book ... they'll dig deeper into the history behind the tales to learn more about the biblical world.

PICTURE BOOKS

author: Katy S. Duffield
illustrator: K.G. Campbell
Candlewick Press
Ahhh-flying-saucer-shooting-star-CHOO! Laughter is the best medicine when you're a little alien feeling under the weather.

Little Alien is sick. And sick is extra-terrestrial bad when you have two scratchy throats, five ears that hurt, and three runny noses. Splatch! Sputter! Spurt! Luckily Mama and Daddy Alien have an arsenal of lunar decongestants and meteor showers on hand to make him feel a little better (not to mention a Milky Way milkshake to help the medicine go down). Even so, the family's alien pooch, Mars Rover, can't stand to see his little buddy feeling out of sorts. Can a loyal pup's funny tricks finally coax a smile?

author: Kerri Kokias
illustrator: Teagan White
Penguin Random House
Two sisters enjoy a snow day in their own unique ways. The first sister’s story presents itself on the left panel of each spread, and the second sister’s story unfolds on the right. In this uniquely structured book, both sisters’ stories are told with the exact same words, only in opposite order. Kerri Kokias has created a multilayered story using deceptively simple text, with the story truly being revealed in Teagan White’s sweetly detailed illustrations.

author: Marcie Colleen
illustrator: Bob Shea
Balzer + Bray
A hilariously clever geometry-inspired picture book from acclaimed author Marcie Colleen and popular illustrator Bob Shea. Perfect for fans of Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

Ever since they were a dot and a speck, Circle and Square have been best friends.... Then someone new comes along: a cool, exciting Triangle. And three starts to feel like a crowd. . . .
With their friendship bent out of shape, can they put it back together again?




**I received copies of the books above for review/feature purposes. All thoughts, opinions, and reviews are my own.







1 comment:

aLilLacey said...

My daughter would love The Histories Mysteries and World of Information. Thank you for the suggestions!